enough.

The shortest days are the longest.

I end my shortest days with a beer on one hand and a cigarette burning on the other. My shortest days end with smudged eyeliner and clothes unchanged, because who has time for changing to bed-wear and taking a shower when you’re too tired and too exhausted from laughing and crying and feeling for the whole goddamn day? And it is when I feel the exhaustion in my bones at the end of that day, and the restful contentment and satisfaction that comes from a good night’s rest the day after, when I know that that day, yesterday, ended too soon, but were so condensed with moments shared with the people I love the most, that it wasn’t enough.

Those are the days when I wish that one-seventh of a week meant 30 hours instead of 24. Those days, I wish time could freeze, when I am in mid-laughter or mid-discovery. Filipinos have a word for this. We call it bitin: the feeling of never having enough. The feeling that you’re left hanging. I live for these days. I wake up because of these days.

I tell myself I have an addiction to beer, but beer alone is hardly as amazing as beer with other people. When there is warmth from the buzz and words begin slurring, there is a moment of clarity and epiphany: things I realize about myself, things I learn about other people.

Perhaps I’m selfish: I can never get enough of these days. Because I’m human, I let discontent sit at the pit of my belly, and I will crave, more and more, ever still.

Still never enough.

(Written for The Daily Post, as is usual these days.)

About hookedonoxygen

Hey there.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to enough.

  1. well written, good answer to the dailiy prompt, i would’ve never thought to answer it like this. great job!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

